Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Where are my wooden shoes? June 11, 2011

Filed under: Cooking — Lori @ 9:25 am

My Dad’s mother was Danish.  I never learned anything about Denmark from her – either history or about their food for which I am sorry.  I can’t remember my Grandma ever cooking anything I was told was Danish.  (I asked my Dad and he didn’t either.)  However, I do know some of the history of my Grandma’s family after they came to the U.S.  She was the first generation born here.  They lived in a Danish community on the gulf area of Texas.

I found a Danish recipe for Aebelskivers on a website that I follow called The Nourishing Gourmet.  I tried the recipe this morning and it was a success!  First of all, the family loved them and secondly I enjoyed the process of making something unique and different that is part of my heritage.  I just love when I make something and my family enjoys eating it!

Mine did not turn out as beautifully round and evenly cooked as the photos on her blog, but for a first attempt, I think I did pretty well.

The only change I made from her recipe is that I mixed up a batch of maple butter instead of using the honey and butter syrup she suggested.  In case maple butter sounds like something you might like to try (it is great on pancakes or french toast) it is equal parts softened butter, powdered sugar and maple syrup blended together.  Yummy!!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

