Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

We are Home March 16, 2011

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,India — Lori @ 10:11 pm

We arrived home safely on Saturday, March 12.  That arrival was in some doubt as we sat in our plane in Delhi, unable to leave the gate because one of the engines would not start.  I went through all sorts of emotions during that wait.  What would I do if we were delayed so long that we missed our connection in Amsterdam?  Then came, what if we get asked to leave the plane and have to wait for another flight?  Oh, and my favorite, what if that silly engine that won’t start does start and then dies when we are on our way – say – over Afghanistan?

Honestly, my mind was racing.  All of a sudden I remembered the lesson that God was working on with me from the previous day – be thankful for the situation I am in.  I started to pray asking God to have His way and His will with this situation – no matter what.  I said that I didn’t want my way, or to “get out of this”.  I relaxed and not long after this heart decision the captain announced that the engine had started and we could be on our way.

Because we had a four hour layover in Amsterdam, we did not miss our connection as many other people did on our flight.  God is good!

Levi Sangeet did so well on the trip.  I was a little worried because he is energetic.  He slept a good amount, but when he wasn’t sleeping he just kept busy with something in his seat.  He was great!

We arrived in Portland to about 45 family and friends to greet us at the airport.  It was so amazing to see so many of the people who have loved and encouraged us through this process.  Best of all, there were our three beautiful daughters who we missed terribly! 

Levi Sangeet is a very outgoing and confident child.  He was a little bit shy at the airport and then at church on Sunday, but he warms up quickly.  He LOVES his sisters and they have been great with him.  Kalindi and Kira are being super patient and willing to help him and play with him.  I am sure he thinks he hit the jackpot.

He has not exhibited any sign of grief or sadness at leaving India.  Don’t get me wrong, I am sure he has some grief.  But, it has been good to see him happy and enjoying himself.  I didn’t mention when we were in India, we had to go back to the main orphanage where we had first picked Levi up.  We were picking up a letter from the attorney there and also leaving a piece of paper they needed from us.  He actually acted a bit worried and never relaxed while we were there.  They kept wanting him to come and go to another room and see some kids, but he was very reluctant to leave us.  I was worried that he was afraid we were changing our mind leaving him there.  Poor kid.  However, I took it as a good sign that he was happy as a clam and himself again as soon as we were in the car and headed to the hotel.

He is showing affection to Kevin and I as well as his sisters.  He is very curious and does not miss much.  He is quick and I have a feeling he is going to give me, as his teacher, a run for my money!  He is funny and happy and makes us all smile. 

I am seriously tired so I will say goodbye for now!  I just really wanted to give you all a snapshot of how things are at our home.  We appreciate your continued prayers as this is just the beginning!

 

4 Responses to “We are Home”

  1. Jennifer Morse Says:

    Congratulations to you and your family. Sounds like everything is going quite well. Praise the Lord!!

  2. Katherine Schneider Says:

    I’m glad you’re home safe & blessed with a new edition to the family and resting peacably. God bless all of you!
    Aunt Katherine

  3. Kristin Says:

    It is just BEAUTIFUL to see you all together!!!!! I am smiling from ear to ear and rejoicing in God’s plan and that His purposes can not be thwarted! Praising the Lord with you!

  4. dawn Says:

    Welcome home!!!!!!!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

