Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

India – Day Five March 16, 2011

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,India — Lori @ 9:21 pm

March 11, 2011 (2:45 a.m. Delhi time)

At 2:15 am Delhi time we got a phone call from our travel agent that everything has been taken care of. The airline changed the name on Levi’s ticket without any penalty or issues. We are praising the Lord!

Before I went to bed I read a blog post of a friend who was reposting a post she had read. I happen to read the same blog she was citing so I know the back story of this gal. To get to the point, this young woman is a missionary in Uganda and she was telling the story of an older lady who has suffered much tragedy in her life including the recent violent death of her son. This woman was exuding the joy of the Lord even in immense grief and pain. It got me thinking how often we only want to praise God when things are going the way we want them to. Did I consider praising God for the mess we found we were in on Wednesday? No. My usual response is to ask God why He is allowing this in my life and to pray for it to go away.

So, in retrospect I am now praising God for the trials this week. I am praising Him for allowing us a glimpse of his mercy and grace. I am thanking Him that He allowed us to be a part of an instance where He could show His power and sovereignty. I hope that I will learn to praise Him IN the trial instead of just when I am out of it.

If you are interested in reading the entire blog post I mentioned, the original source web address is The Journey.

Thank you all for your encouragement and prayers! USA here we come!!!

Now, to try to get back to sleep!

Later on March 11, 2011

We went on a short sight seeing trip today to Qutab Minar.  It was really interesting.  I am glad we made it.  We were not planning on going out today, but we had to drive back to the orphanage to pick up some corrected papers and a letter of explanation from the attorney.  Kevin also needed to sign a letter for the lawyer stating that his name was wrong and to please apply for a corrected order.

Before we left we pretty much packed everything as we were a bit worried that we had done too much shopping!  It looks like everything will fit and hopefully be under weight. 

While Kevin was checking in for our flights he found out the Delta flight number for you who will be looking for us a PDX.  It is DL 0179 coming from Amsterdam arriving at noon.

We are very thankful for our good time in India and very anxious to get headed home.  On the name front, he has been okay with being called Levi Sangeet.

 

Leave a Reply

