Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Anybody Out There? October 15, 2010

Filed under: Adoption,Home Schooling,India — Lori @ 10:57 pm

It has been some time since I have written here.  I wouldn’t be surprised if you have all given up on me!  For awhile I was waiting to write hoping that any day I would have good news to share about Levi’s adoption.

Sometimes I am so funny. 

Like I EVER get information when I am promised it.  Why do I always believe them?

I really didn’t want to write another “we are still waiting for news” post.  So, I guess I won’t. 🙂

School is going well.  I wasn’t sure who it would be harder on to get back into our schedule, me or the girls.  It has been good for all of us.  I enjoy getting back into a regular schedule.  It helps me to spend my days in a more worthwhile manner.  I can waste a lot of time in the summer!  The girls did a month long summer school specifically teaching phonics and reading skills.  They both really enjoyed it and it seems like it was helpful in solidifying all the work we have done in the last two years of school on phonics.

Both of the girls are making good progress with their reading.  It is so encouraging to see all the hard work start to pay off. 

A fun thing the girls and I have been doing is a program offered through Sonlight Curriculum called Passport to India.  It is a ten part video diary of a visit to India.  It is meant to teach about the culture and people of India, but with an emphasis on what the Lord in doing to advance the gospel there.  There is a mixture of sadness and hope as you watch.  He is visiting desparately poor people, but there are Christians who are bringing a message of hope through the gospel to the people.  There are slum churches that teach reading and writing and help women to learn to make things to sell so that they can help their families.  There are Children’s Bible Clubs that invite the kids to come and learn scripture and songs and they bring what they are learning back to their families.

This has been so neat to do with the girls.  Kalindi is not surprised by what she sees.  In fact, she will comment on things as we watch – for instance she remembers her mother cooking over a fire similar to what we saw on the video.  Kira really only remembers her life at the orphanage so she does not identify with the kids in the video as much as Kalindi does. 

What they are both learning is that there are people who love Jesus in India and they are telling others about the Savior.  It will take generations to change the poverty and injustice in India.  But, the Lord can change one heart at a time. 

You can donate to Mission India to help fund their various projects.  Mission India exists to equip Indian Christians to take the gospel into their own communities through Adult Literacy Classes, Children’s Bible Clubs, and Church Planter Training.  You can read more about their projects here.  Any donation you make through the Sonlight link will be matched by Sonlight until November 17. 

The slum took a lot of getting used to.  It was absolutely filthy and crowded.  My heart breaks for these people.

 

One Response to “Anybody Out There?”

  1. sarah bess Says:

    thinking lots about you lately.
    Lots of love to you. Can feel the pain when you talk about the wait. hope deferred…
    praying for you.


Leave a Reply

