Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

The Latest – From India May 17, 2010

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,Family — Lori @ 8:10 pm

I got the phone call today I have been waiting a month for.  The India director for our agency was in India visiting orphanages and taking care of business.  She was there for about a month.  We were hoping that she was able to find out whether there was any progress in our case.

In case you do not remember the hold up, the sitting District court judge in Delhi is being very picky and is throwing out adoption cases that come to him where the family has three children in the home.  Levi’s orphanage has had a case thrown out and has been dealing with appealing to the High Court and then to the Supreme Court.  We are waiting for a determination on the case that is now in the Supreme Court.  When this is settled, the lawyer and orphanage feel like we will have a much better chance to get our case through without incident. 

The case we are waiting on could be resolved any day.  Please pray with us about this and that it would resolve in God’s time.  We are also praying for this family who has also been waiting longer than they should have to for their child to come home with them.

There was some disappointment in the news we received today.  The orphanage would not let the director visit Levi.  It seems that the Sisters finally told him that there is a family who is in the process of adopting him.  He is seeing his friends all leave and go home with their families and it is making him very upset.  They felt like he would be too upset to see her and it not be his parents.  There is actually good news in that as well.  You see, we have been worried about how Levi might feel about being adopted.  He has lived his entire life at the orphanage.  We weren’t sure what he might think about having a family.  It is encouraging to us that he is excited about having a family.  Now, we aren’t happy that it is upsetting to him.  That is a concern.  And, all the more reason to triple our prayer efforts on behalf of our case getting going. 

Here is a Mother’s Day photo of me with my beautiful daughters.  We had a fun day going out to dinner after church and spending the afternoon with my parents and my sister’s family. 

My gift for Mother’s Day was a sterling silver pendant that I picked out – actually had custom made by a wonderful jewelry designer with a heart for adoption!  Check out her Etsy site.

I contacted her and asked if she could make me something for India and she was happy to personalize one for me.  What was really interesting about it was the pride that the girls took in choosing it and in my wearing it.  They saw it as my honoring them along with their country of birth.  It was really important to them.  I hadn’t really thought it would have that kind of impact.

On the front is a map of India with a heart on it, behind the map are the words, Blessings from India.

On the back she inscribed the names, Kali, Kira, and Levi.  I now wear my precious gifts from India on my heart!

I do not believe that God has promised us anything specific in regards to Levi.  Of course, Kevin and I felt God’s leading in our decision to adopt him.  And, I certainly feel great hope that he will be raised in our home.  But, I have no claim on God that this HAS to happen, nor that it will happen in my idea of perfect timing.  Our faithful Creator God, our loving and merciful Heavenly Father is in control of this and it is in His hands.  We want His perfect will.  We trust Him implicitly. 

Psalm 116:1-2   I love the LORD, because he has heard my voice and my pleas for mercy.
Because he inclined his ear to me, therefore I will call on him as long as I live.

 

7 Responses to “The Latest – From India”

  1. Jennifer Morse Says:

    Hi Lori,

    What exciting news and time of change for all of you! The girls look so mature compared to the last time I saw them. I’ve been keeping up-to-date on your blog. Thanks for sending the update reminders to my email. Hope to see you on my trips to Seattle this summer.

    Love & Blessings,
    Jennifer

  2. Theresa Says:

    Lori,
    My heart is with you and Kevin as I pray that Levi will be raised as your son. I too am asking God to grant this for you and him.
    Love, Theresa

  3. Kelly Says:

    Continuing to pray for all this. May God grant you the grace to keep on waiting–it is a killer wait. So sorry this is all taking so long.
    Love,
    Kelly

  4. Diane Schoming Says:

    Lori, Thanks for sharing. You and Kevin are really living out your faith. My prayers are with you. Hope to see you at the desert next week…Diane Schoming

  5. Kim Says:

    Your family is such an encouragement. In your waiting, it reminds me of God’s patience and longsuffering toward His own children…who are adopted, but still haven’t come home to Him. May you have peace as you wait upon the Lord.

  6. Kristin Says:

    Lori,
    Thank you so much for the update! We will be praying that the Lord would bring a phone call with news really soon! Thank you so much for your continued honesty as you go through this “up and down” adoption”…and for your continued steadfastness on the Lord…even when you, as a family, can’t see even a step in front of you in regards to the adoption! You are a testimony of God’s amazing grace!

    Waiting eagerly with you,
    Kristin

  7. Lori Says:

    Thank you all for your encouragement and prayers! Kim, what a beautiful thought. Thank you.

    There are moments when I think I cannot take the wait, the unknown, any longer and then God fills me up with His grace and I am ready to keep on. So, Kristin, you are right – it is a testimony of God’s amazing grace!

    That is the thing with trials – they are not fun at all, but God has these special treasures for us in them that we would not receive if not for the dark times.


Leave a Reply

