Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

It’s Been Awhile April 11, 2010

Filed under: Faith,Family,Kid Sayings — Lori @ 10:16 pm

I am not really sure why I haven’t felt like I had anything to say here.  Life has seemed pretty busy – but it usually is.  I will take a few minutes to catch you up.

I just had an interesting interaction with Kira this evening.  She had a little accident upstairs and called down to me and asked me to come up.  I was talking with Kevin so I asked her to wait a minute.  When I went up she looked pretty worried and I asked her what happened.  She explained to me what the problem was and we took care of it.  I talked to her about the issue and what she might do in future to avoid it happening again, but I didn’t get mad.

When we were finishing up, she grabbed me for a hug and said, “I love you, Mom.  When I look at you, it is just like I am seeing Jesus.”  I about burst into tears.  It was a sweet moment.

Kalindi had her first sleepover.  On Friday night she spent the night at the church where she attends AWANA for handbook camp.  She was so excited about it and I was thinking it would be a good rehearsal for the camp she wants to attend for a week this summer.  It turned out to be a rehearsal for everyone as Kira confessed just how upset she was at the prospect of her sister being away and sleeping alone in their room.  She has never in her life slept alone and she was quite worried.

I heard from Kalindi’s AWANA leader that she did just fine and did not seem to have a problem missing us or feeling homesick.  I am glad of that and she did say that she had a great time and still looks forward to camp this summer.  She was quite tired on Saturday from a lack of sleep and has come down with a cold or something.

Kira on the other hand, had a harder time.  She was quiet all evening and spoke of missing her sister on several occasions.  At bedtime she got very serious.  By the time she had brushed her teeth she ran to her bed and threw herself in and started crying – hard.  Poor thing.  I lay down by her and she wasn’t even wanting my comfort.  In fact, she started saying she was mad at us for letting Kalindi be away.  I felt so badly for her.  She finally did accept my comfort and lay with her head on my shoulder crying her eyes out. 

We had a talk about all that she has learned about Jesus and that He is always with her.  She asked me to read a storybook called Sammy and His Shepherd, which is a wonderful book about Psalm 23.  We read the first couple of chapters and Kira was reminded how Jesus is her good Shepherd and cares for her and protects her. 

It turned out to be a very good experience for Kira and I think she gained a lot of confidence in the power and presence of Jesus in her life.  I also think that she will really miss her sister, but that she will be okay when Kalindi goes to camp.

Kali and Kira and I went to the little nursery around the corner from us and picked out flowers for their pots at the front door.  They love picking out the different ones and then planting them in their pots.  We have done this each spring since they came – it is our tradition.  The flowers look cheery and give us all hope that spring is truly around the corner!  We can dream, right? 🙂

Have a wonderful week.

 

One Response to “It’s Been Awhile”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Isn’t it amazing just how different our kids can be? What a sweet blessing that they are so close!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

