Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Learning While Waiting March 2, 2010

Filed under: Adoption,Faith — Lori @ 4:10 pm

We are not done waiting for our adoption of Levi Sangeet.  I remind myself many times a day that what I wait for is not a court case in the High Courts of Delhi, but God Almighty Who is Sovereign and reigns over everything.  He is in control of the timing and how this turns out.

We learn to trust during these times of waiting.  I am still working on better trust and relinquishing all my wants and desires knowing that God’s will and perfect purposes are always best. 

I think we also grow and learn during times of waiting – just like we do in times of trial.  Of course the work of growth and learning is done by the Lord and we cooperate with Him in it.  We can choose to be stubborn or we can choose to allow His work in our life.

In our ladies Sunday school class, we have been studying the Psalms.  We did Psalm 105 and 106 last week.  In Psalm 105 the Psalmist is listing a history of Israel and God’s providential hand in it.

Psalm 105:16-22:  When he summoned a famine on the land and broke all supply of bread, he had sent a man ahead of them, Joseph, who was sold as a slave.  His feet were hurt with fetters; his neck was put in a collar of iron; until what he had said came to pass, the word of the LORD tested him.  The king sent and released him; the ruler of the peoples set him free; he made him lord of his house and ruler of all his possessions, to bind his princes at his pleasure and to teach his elders wisdom.

This is a recounting of the story of Joseph.  A beautiful story of God’s sovereignty (purposefully ordaining all that happens).  God used the evil act of Joseph’s brothers to fulfill His plan to use Joseph to save Israel.  Hmmmm.  Interesting, huh? 

The parallel to our situation is this:  we are God’s children and He loves us.  Nothing happens in our lives that God does not ordain – even the acts of others.  God doesn’t scramble to make things work out that “happen” to us.  His plans and purposes are carried out – even by people who don’t realize they are cooperating with Him.  Think of Jesus’ death on the cross.  That was God’s pre-ordained, perfect plan to bring salvation to His people.  Does that mean that those who betrayed Jesus and called for His death are not held accountable?  No, it does not.  Do I completely understand this?  No, but I believe in a compatibility between God’s sovereign ordaining and man’s responsibility with all my heart as a truth that the Bible teaches.

Pretend you are Joseph.  You were just sold by your brothers to be a slave in a foreign land.  In your youth you have had visions from God telling you that you are His and that He has a special plan for you.  (We don’t need those visions by the way!  We have the Holy Spirit and God’s Word.)  What do you suppose his first thoughts were when he found himself in Egypt as a slave?  Do you think he felt abandoned by God?  Do you suppose that he questioned how in the world God would fulfill the visions he gave him with the way things were going?

We are usually at a loss to know what God is doing behind the scenes.  He works in ways we cannot understand.  We really have to hang onto our trust in His character and what we know to be true.  We cannot get our feeling of confidence from within ourselves or what we see in our circumstances.

Do you think that God had to work with what happened to Joseph or do you think it was His plan?  I am only reading into the Genesis account of this event my own interpretation, but I see Joseph as a little cocky and lacking in discernment in relating the whole of his dreams to his brothers. 🙂  He saw himself as special – thanks in part to the preferential treatment of his father. (A whole other subject!)  I have to wonder if God needed to work on Joseph’s character, getting him ready for the huge job he had for him to do.  That work on Joseph took years.  Joseph had a long wait to see what God’s plan was.

I see myself in a waiting place.  This is not dead time.  God is working.  And, if I am willing, He is working on my character.  He is teaching me, stretching me, and growing my faith. 

I am content in this time of waiting.  I believe in the perfect, holy will of God.  I know that what He plans for my life is for His glory and for my good.  I do not mean “happy” good.  He is making me into the image of Christ – an image that will be a reflection of Jesus to the world.  God’s plan for me is not to make me happy, but to make me holy.  And, you know, I just want to cooperate with that and allow Him to do that work and use me in whatever way He wishes.

 

One Response to “Learning While Waiting”

  1. Sarah H. Says:

    Thanks for posting this, I really enjoyed your thoughts on this matter. We’ll be praying for Levi’s adoption.


Leave a Reply

