Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Not Sure What to Say January 20, 2010

Filed under: Adoption,Faith — Lori @ 11:50 pm

I have been dealing with overall grumpiness for the last week and a half.  My girls have started to ask me when I will not be grumpy again.  They have even prayed for me to not be grumpy!  I think I better deal with this, huh? 🙂

My excuses for being grumpy are – in no particular order:

1) Hormones – do I really need to expound on this one?
2) Impatience waiting for over a month to hear that we have our “Article 5” which means that CARA can finally approve us and our adoption case will proceed to court – in other words, there would be an end in sight. 
3) Frustration at finding out that one stinking piece of paper and a photo did not get delivered to the Embassy in Delhi when it was asked for over a month ago so that our immigration approval would be official. (I was told this was taken care of and I really have no idea whose fault it is that it isn’t there.)
4) Heartache and concern as I watch the news of what is going on in Haiti.  The plight of all those orphans and the families that are waiting for them just reminds me all the more of our own wait.

None of these are good reasons to be in a foul mood – bad enough that my family is making comments about it.  What is my “real” problem?  What am I not doing that I should be?  Well, it might be that I am not leaning on the One I should be.  It is easy to do, isn’t it?  You start to get caught up in life’s issues and pretty soon you are just like Peter out on the water taking his eyes off Jesus and sinking!

So, what do I do?  I remind myself that the Lord is sovereign, He is almighty and in complete control of everything from the wind that blows outside to the decisions of governments.  God is my heavenly Father and He loves me.  That doesn’t mean that He gives me everything I want when I want it.  It means that He knows what is best for me.  I need to keep reminding myself of that.

Isaiah 43:1-7

1But now thus says the LORD, he who created you, O Jacob,
   he who formed you, O Israel:
 “Fear not, for I have redeemed you;
    I have called you by name, you are mine.
2 When you pass through the waters, I will be with you;
   and through the rivers, they shall not overwhelm you;
 when you walk through fire you shall not be burned,
   and the flame shall not consume you.
3For I am the LORD your God,
   the Holy One of Israel, your Savior.
I give Egypt as your ransom,
   Cush and Seba in exchange for you.
4Because you are precious in my eyes,
   and honored, and I love you,
I give men in return for you,
   peoples in exchange for your life.
5 Fear not, for I am with you;
   I will bring your offspring from the east,
   and from the west I will gather you.
6I will say to the north, Give up,
   and to the south, Do not withhold;
bring my sons from afar
   and my daughters from the end of the earth,
7everyone who is called by my name,
   whom I created for my glory,
   whom I formed and made.”

 

2 Responses to “Not Sure What to Say”

  1. Lisa Henderson Says:

    This Scripture is really special to me, too, and what I needed today!

  2. Kristin Says:

    Thanks for sharing…that way we can pray for you! 🙂 But thanks also for the sweet example of “preaching to yourself” by preaching to yourself even in the post and, in the process, encouraging our hearts to look Heavenward and keep our eyes fixed on the awesome God we serve!

    I love the verses you posted for today too!


Leave a Reply

