Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Waiting Well? December 27, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Faith — Lori @ 11:54 pm

I have had to think a lot about waiting lately.  We all think we can plan things out and that we know the best timing for an event don’t we?  I sure do.  If only God would listen to my plans sometimes! 🙂

Really, I am glad that He doesn’t.  Knowing God is in control doesn’t necessarily make it easy to wait, but it does bring perspective and a chance to learn and grow in our trust.

Our pastor gave a Christmas themed sermon last week and one of the verses he quoted stuck in my head and has played over and over.  Galatians 4:4,5  But when the fullness of time had come, God sent forth his Son, born of woman, born under the law,  to redeem those who were under the law, so that we might receive adoption as sons.

The Amplified version says, “when the proper time had fully come”.  God, in His knowing eternity past, present, and future knew when the “proper time” was for Jesus’ birth.  There were hundreds of years the Jews waited for God’s promised Messiah.  I am sure they had wondered if it would ever come.  Those years they waited were not easy.

God doesn’t move in the time that we are confined to.  God operates outside that limitation.  We certainly do not completely understand the mystery of God’s sovereignty or His control over all things, but we can have faith in it because we have seen it work.

Here is where I am going with this – I want to wait patiently and with faith.  I want to sit back and not be anxious and remember that the God Who not only created our world and everything in it, is holding it together, is sustaining it.  He cares for me – after all, I am an adopted daughter, redeemed by God’s Son. (verse 5)  He knows what is best.

I believe with all my heart that God has had His hand on Levi Sangeet’s life ever since he was conceived.  He had a plan for his life and knew that it would one day intersect with our families’ life.  Isn’t that amazing?  And wonderful!  I can’t wait to share that with Levi some day, the same way that I have shared that comforting truth with the girls.

In the meantime, we make good use of our time!  I finally got Levi’s room put together.  We found a great bookcase headboard on Craigslist and got a mattress at Costco yesterday.  I had already purchased the bed set and Kevin and I had painted one of the walls in the room an accent color the day after Thanksgiving.

We are ready and waiting……………………………….patiently and with great hope!

 

Leave a Reply

