Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

This and That December 17, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,Family — Lori @ 12:20 am

The last time I gave you an update of our adoption process I was also asking that you pray that our dossier would be approved quickly by CARA, the government agency that needs to give our papers their stamp of approval before it goes to court.

I found out from a comment left by Jenny, another mom in the process of adopting from India, that there was a step I hadn’t been made aware of.  I asked my agency and was told that once we had approval from immigration (Dept. of Homeland Security) to bring a child back to the U.S. that an “Article 5” would be issued and sent to CARA.  CARA will not give approval for our dossier without this piece of paper.

I got an email today from immigration asking for another form and a photo of Levi and then they said they will be issuing our Article 5 to CARA.  So, very soon, that paper will be in their hands in India.  We are still praying for God’s timing although hoping it is sooner rather than later that they give us their approval and send our dossier off to court.

So, in the meantime, something else came up in our lives.  My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer.  Those words do tend to strike fear in the heart of women when we hear them.  It seems to my mom’s doctor that this has been caught very early.  She will be having a lumpectomy on Monday and they will check at that time to see if the cancer is contained or if it has traveled to her lymph nodes.  That will affect her treatment needs after the surgery.  No cancer in nodes, radiation only, cancer in nodes, she will need chemo. 

I hope that the peace and calmness that I feel about this is from growth in the area of trusting God and not some kind of numbness.  I believe that trust is an area that the Lord has been working on in my life for quite some time – although there is still work to be done.   

Mom is very confident in the Lord’s control over this situation and that makes it much easier to go through this with her.  Please, if you think of us, pray for my mom and that as a family we would support and encourage her in helpful ways.

Thank you also for your continued prayers for Levi and our adoption process, as well as my mom’s surgery and treatment.  We appreciate you so much.

Proverbs 3:5,6   Trust in the LORD with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.  In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths.

 

One Response to “This and That”

  1. dawn Says:

    Lori,
    Thank-you for your beautiful comment on my blog! I’ve come over here to read, and through reading back through your writing I have found encouragement. I’ve got you bookmarked now so that I can follow your journey to India. My thoughts will be with you as you wait through the process and it’s changes.

    God bless you sister in Christ!
    dawn:)


Leave a Reply

