Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Thankfulness December 1, 2009

Filed under: Faith,Family,Grief — Lori @ 3:10 pm

I know I am a bit late in posting about thankfulness.  I truly meant to have something written up before Thanksgiving, but we had a houseful and I was BUSY last week!  It was a wonderful time spent with Kevin’s family (parents and siblings + kids – 21 in all!) and we enjoyed it immensely.

The one thing I always lament when I am the one hosting a big holiday event is that with all that needs to be attended to, I don’t feel like I have as much time as I would like to have to visit and just enjoy the occasion.  I tried to make time and I did have pockets here and there and enjoyed catching up with everyone.  Kevin’s parents stayed the night before and after with us and his mom was a huge help with everything in the kitchen.  Sister-in-laws also brought side dishes to contribute.  It was a wonderful meal and good time spent reconnecting with our family.

There are so many things that I am thankful for.  Number one is that God – in His mercy – through the Holy Spirit caused my heart to desire to listen and respond to God’s loving drawing of me to Himself.  I know that is an awkward sentence, but I am realizing more and more over the years how I did not choose God in all my intelligence and wisdom. (note the sarcasm) God chose me.  I was dead in my sins and I could not make that choice.

I am thankful for Christ’s provision for my sins by His death on the cross.  He not only paid the price for my sins that I owed, but He fulfilled the law by living a completely sinless and righteous life on my behalf.  That is amazing!

We have been learning about the old testament temple and how each element was looking forward to Jesus and how He would fulfill the covenant God made with His people.  The veil into the Holy of Holies was 60 feet high, 30 feet wide, and 4 inches thick.  The priest would go into the Holy of Holies only once a year to atone for his own sins and then the sins of the people.  Can you imagine the awe and reverence that would fill that priest’s heart as he entered that holy place?  What fear must have been in his heart as he considered his own sinfulness and realizing that he had to complete each step perfectly to fulfill God’s commands for this sacrifice.  The priest was entering into God’s presence! 

When Jesus completed His payment for our sins, the earth shook and went dark and the temple veil into the Holy of Holies was ripped from top to bottom.  God tore away the boundary between His people and Himself.  We can approach him for forgiveness and communion without the need of a priest.  Jesus is our High Priest!  But, even though I have this great privilege, I need to remember how special it is to be able to do this.  Do I enter into God’s presence with the same care and reverence that the old testament priests had?  I should.

Sorry for that little sidetrack!  That was just so encouraging to me when I stopped to really think about it that I had to share. 🙂

I am so thankful for God’s blessing in my life.  I deserve none.  His provision for our family has been generous and complete.  We may be waiting for some provision for our adoption expenses, but because He has been so faithful to us in the past, we are assured that He will continue to be faithful in the future.

My family.  I am married to a flesh and blood human male and all that comes with that!  🙂  Seriously, he is not perfect, but God made a great choice in bringing Kevin into my life.  We are good complements to each other.  I am also very blessed with my three daughters.  They are unique, special creations of God and I love them for who they are.

One thing that comes to mind that Kira does to bless me is that when she refers to the kids in our family she will recite that I have three daughters and two sons. (She will also say that she has two sisters and two brothers)  She counts both Grant and Levi as my sons and that just warms my heart.  Kira never knew Grant.  She only knows him through our stories, photos, and home videos.  Still, she speaks about him as if she did know him and often says that she misses him.  Isn’t that sweet?  If you have lost someone dear, you know that remembrance of that person is very important to you.  Not just that you remember them, but that others do as well.  It lets you know that someone else besides yourself has a special feeling for that person that is no longer a part of your daily life, but is always a part of your thoughts and emotions.  I count this as a very special blessing from the Lord.

As I look out my window at the fall sunshine I am thankful to God for His perfect creation.  Everything we see is the work of His hands – spoken into being by His powerful word!  The earth stays in the place he put it and turns at the exact speed He tells it to.  Year after year, we can count on the seasons and time.  He provides us with water in a cycle that is amazing!  Thank you Lord for the fall sun I see streaming in my window this afternoon!  Thank you for the sound of the wind in the firs behind my house.  I do not deserve such beauty and yet He has lavished it on me.

I guess most of all I am thankful for the eternally existent God of the universe, the I Am – Who was, and is, and is to come.  Praise His Name.

 

Leave a Reply

