Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Multi-Racial Families October 21, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Race — Lori @ 3:03 pm

With all the thinking that I have been doing about race and adoption and how sadly our world in general gets along with and treats others that are different from themselves – it made me wonder something.  Don’t you think that transracial adoption could be a great step in breaking down racial barriers?

I mean, how better can we understand other cultural or racial groups than to bring a child of another race into our home and community.  For every adoptive family I know, maintaining or even in some cases increasing the child’s knowledge of and connection with their racial heritage is a high priority.  And, in that process you learn things about a country and its people who you never would have known.  I feel a connection and a burden for India that I never would have had.  Your circle of friends is widened and your view of the world is forever changed.

I am certainly not advocating adoption just as a cultural learning tool, but it is a wonderful benefit.  I hope that transracial adopted families are slowly changing the perception and understanding of those around us to look for opportunities to expand their boundaries to include other cultural groups.  And not only that, but to look at people from different cultures with eyes to learn and understand their background and life stories and to embrace them for who they are.  We can learn so much from each other and it enriches all our lives to be exposed to it.

Adoption update:  My dossier is in the hands of our agency.  They will be checking it and sending it off to India soon!  I can’t wait to hear that it has arrived and entered that process.  We are in the process of clearing out the room that will become Levi’s.  My house just needs a bit of readjustment and organization so that I can find a place for everything that has been in that spare room.  We are making a good dent in the project!  I am also preparing our photo album that we will soon be sending off to him to introduce him to our family.  That is always a fun project and the girls will enjoy helping me choose photos for that.  We will also be able to send a small gift.  Please continue praying for God’s hand to guide our paperwork and to be on Levi as he waits.  He is still unaware that a family is working to get him home.

Lori

 

3 Responses to “Multi-Racial Families”

  1. dorygirl Says:

    Lori says “Don’t you think that transracial adoption could be a great step in breaking down racial barriers? I mean, how better can we understand other cultural or racial groups than to bring a child of another race into our home and community.”

    But that seems to place the burden of breaking down these barriers upon the adoptees (simply because of who they are) – who already have enough burdens.

  2. Lori Says:

    Oh, you totally misunderstood what I meant. I am not putting the burden on the children or the families. Only that in seeing these families and getting to know people of other cultures, that it would break down barriers in people’s hearts and reduce the prejudices and stereotypes that they may hold.

  3. Kristin Says:

    I can’t help but think of our own adoption as gentiles into God’s family. For the Jews that was a tough pill to swallow…that salvation was being offered to the gentiles. Talk about breaking down barriers…Christ took a sledge hammer to them!!!

    I know what you are saying, Lori. I do not believe that our adopted children can break down any barrier. BUT, God can use them to soften hearts and prayerfully give us opportunities to share about OUR OWN adoption…for we were one despised, pagan and apart from the covenant!

    Hope I am making sense and not rambling! 🙂


Leave a Reply

