Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Loving in Jesus’ Name October 6, 2009

Filed under: Faith,Ministries — Lori @ 11:22 am

I recently found this blog, The Journey, written by a woman who ministers to the people in a small corner of Uganda by giving food, medical supplies, caring, and love.  It is amazing to read her stories.  Amazing and convicting.

Today, I read her post from Monday, October 5, entitled “Full”.  I cried as I read it.  Please do go read the whole thing!  Go read it and then come back and finish this post!

My first thought was how simple the act was that she performed for this boy, but how much it meant to him.  My second thought was how little gratitude I have for the provision of God that I see – abundantly! – every day of my life.  I don’t know what it feels like to be hungry for days.  I don’t know the fear of being injured and not knowing if there will be someone to care for it. 

Do yourself a favor and read on her site for as long as you have time.  I guarantee you that it will touch your heart, challenge your thinking, and urge you to action.

Matthew 11:28-30   “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” (Jesus speaking)

What does that mean – “my burden is light”?  Does it mean that Jesus will never ask us to do anything that is hard?

When we willingly take the yoke – us on one side, Jesus on the other – we are telling the Lord that we are making the choice to be obedient to His will.  We are surrendering our own wants and desires and giving ourselves wholeheartedly to His purposes.  And in that action, we are joining ourselves to Jesus to do whatever it is that He wants of us.  We will never go it alone if we are in His will.

I have to think about how often I feel like my burden is heavy.  Why does it feel that way?  Probably because I am going my own way, dragging a yoke on my own that is meant for two. 

When I prayerfully and in God’s grace choose to submit my will to His the Lord might ask me to do something that seems hard.  But it won’t be.  Not if I am resting in my yoke and leaning on the strength and wisdom of the God of the universe. 

That is how I want to live my life. 

 

One Response to “Loving in Jesus’ Name”

  1. Kristin Says:

    I second Lori’s recommendation….I can’t say enough how precious and beautiful her ministry is!!!!


Leave a Reply

