Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

An Easy Way to Get Involved October 6, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,Kids,Ministries — Lori @ 11:37 pm

As a follow up to what I posted about the blog, The Journey, there is a website where you can learn more about the organization called Amazina (connected with the blog) located in Uganda who are physically providing food, medical care, and hope through the gospel. 

From their website:

Today, Amazima Ministries shares Christ’s love with over 400
children, providing them with school fees, supplies, healthy
meals, medical needs, and spiritual encouragement. We
provide a home and a family for children who have never had
the luxury of either. We provide encouragement physically,
emotionally, and spiritually to those who need it most. We
provide these children with truth. The truth of a bigger world
through education, but more importantly the truth of a God
who created them beautifully in His image, a God who loves
them and values them and wants the best for them. These
children have never known that kind of love.

You can donate for their general expenses or even sponsor a child for $300 a year which will pay for them to be able to attend school.  For $10 you can buy a family a chicken.  There are many other ways to get involved as well.

It is estimated that there are 147 million orphans in the world.  It seems like too huge of a problem for us to do anything about it, doesn’t it?  Sometimes it seems that way.  But, we can do something. 

Not all of us are called to adopt, but God’s Word commands us to care for widows and orphans. (James 1:27)

We are called to care for those who are helpless, the fatherless, the aged.  We can and we must help in whatever way we can.  Once we are aware of these needs, we must not turn away without responding.  Some, like Katie of Amazima, go to meet needs in person.  Others support that work with prayer and with their finances.  However we decide to be involved, we can all be part of – no we are actually commanded to be part of – the work to relieve some of the suffering in this world.  And as Jesus said,

Matthew 25:34-40  Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me food, I was thirsty and you gave me drink, I was a stranger and you welcomed me,  I was naked and you clothed me, I was sick and you visited me, I was in prison and you came to me.’ Then the righteous will answer him, saying, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you drink? And when did we see you a stranger and welcome you, or naked and clothe you? And when did we see you sick or in prison and visit you?’ And the King will answer them, ‘Truly, I say to you, as you did it to one of the least of these my brothers, you did it to me.’

Please go visit Amazima’s website and read about their work and see how you can get involved.

 

One Response to “An Easy Way to Get Involved”

  1. Kristin Says:

    I am so glad you posted the information! I don’t think you can help but want to get involved in helping out this precious ministry after reading her blog!!!


Leave a Reply

