Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Selfless Living August 3, 2009

Filed under: Faith,Life — Lori @ 11:18 pm

I said something really stupid one time to a missionary friend of mine.  Kevin and I had been struggling with life and hating the materialistic, self-centered culture that we live in.  I said to Kevin, “Let’s just go and be missionaries.”  I shared this sentiment with my missionary friend and I am pretty sure she didn’t understand what I meant by the comment. 🙂 

My intent in that statement was not that being a missionary was somehow easier than the life most of us live in the U.S.  I just wondered if it would be easier to serve others, be obedient to God, and have my priorities straight – biblical – if I was off living on a mission field instead of this fairly affluent neighborhood in suburbia. 

It is hard to live a selfless life amongst so much excess.  It is hard not to want things that you see around you.  It is difficult to think of my neighbor when I am so busy with my own life and activities.

What I need to do, is constantly remind myself that no matter where I find myself – that is my mission field.  And, no matter where God calls us to be His witness, it isn’t easy!  I need to pray every day that the Lord would deliver me from my selfishness and covetousness.  I want to be willing to give time to others that I would much rather spend on myself or my own family.

Luke 9:23-25  And he said to all, “If anyone would come after me, let him deny himself and take up his cross daily and follow me. For whoever would save his life will lose it, but whoever loses his life for my sake will save it.  For what does it profit a man if he gains the whole world and loses or forfeits himself?

 

2 Responses to “Selfless Living”

  1. Kristin Says:

    You reminded me of a quote from Jim Elliot…”Wherever you are, be all there.” And I really appreciated the reminder that my mission field is exactly where God has called me…I just can’t forget that! 🙂

  2. Suzy Says:

    Just came across your beautiful blog by chance today. Wanted to say how blessed I’ve been by your writings.
    They touch on so much of what God has been stirring in my heart of late.


Leave a Reply

