Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

A New Diet Idea August 3, 2009

Filed under: Books,Faith,Life — Lori @ 9:50 am

I have been thinking about trying a new diet.  I mean, I could stand to lose a few pounds so why not?

My new diet is called the “Eat One Day a Week Diet”.  Sound interesting?  Why should I need to eat more than one day a week?  If I smell food every day or watch other people eat, won’t that be enough to sustain me until my one day to eat?

Okay, that is just crazy right?  But, isn’t that what most of us do every week in our relationship with the Lord?  Do we go through our busy week rarely taking the time to read our Bibles assuming that we will get filled up on Sunday?  Do we read a short devotional or even read a chapter in a spiritual book and think that we have had our meal for the day?

I am the first to admit that some weeks that sounds like me.  I WANT to spend time reading the Bible every day, but I often find that it is bedtime and all I have the energy for is to read a devotional or a chapter in a book I am working on.  Summer is especially hard for me as I do not have the structure of home school to keep me on track.

Kevin and I were listening to John Piper on CD the other day as we drove across town to his brother’s house.  We were finishing up the end of a class he did based on his book, Desiring God.  One of his points was that we must meditate on the Word of God day and night because God reveals Himself to us in His Word.  “What we see of God in the Word is the kindling of the joy of faith.”

Psalm 19:7  The Law of the Lord is perfect restoring the soul.

Psalm 19:8  The precepts of the Lord are right, rejoicing the heart.

Jeremiah 15:16  Your words were found and I ate them and they were a joy to me and became the delight of my heart because I am called by your name.

John 15:11  I have spoken these things to you that my joy may be in you and that your joy may be full.

Psalm 1:1-3  His delight is in the law of the Lord and on His law he meditates day and night.  He will be like a tree planted by streams of water, which yields its fruit in its season and its leaf does not wither.

Romans 15:13  Now may the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you will abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.

Matthew 4:4  Man shall not live by bread alone but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.

Romans 10:17  Faith comes by hearing, and hearing by the word of Christ.

John 20:31  These things are written that believing you might have life in His name.

Romans 15:4  Whatever was written in former times was written for our instruction that by the steadfastness and encouragement of the Scriptures we might have hope.

But, what happens if we are not fueling our hearts, mind, and spirit with the Word of God?  We will not be nourished and equipped for trials when they come upon us.  We will not be ready to be a witness to a neighbor or friend who is struggling.  We will succumb to temptation and find ourselves straying from the narrow path.  Our hearts will be dry and barren as we struggle to remember Who God is and why we should trust Him.

Why don’t you try the “Three Square Meals a Day, Plus Regular Snacks” diet with me?  When we are saturating ourselves in the Word of God we will be able to do what the girls and I read in their Bible reading this morning:

Joshua 1:9  Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be frightened, and do not be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.

Happy dieting!

 

3 Responses to “A New Diet Idea”

  1. Lori Says:

    Darrel, Thank you for letting me know about that article.

    I liked this part:

    All this means that we should memorize Scripture day by day so that we can feed our faith hourly throughout the day. Only a few people have the luxury of being able to open a Bible every hour or so. But all of us can consult our memory every hour. In fact we need to.

    So, with all my heart, I encourage you to do this. When you have devotions in God’s word, find a phrase or a verse and memorize it. This is like putting faith-food in the pantry of your mind. Then throughout the day you reach in and take a bite from that morsel. It may be as simple as, “I will never leave you or forsake you.” Take that out and chew on it hourly. The nutrition will feed your faith and your faith will grow strong and you will pray for fruit and it will come.

    John Piper

  2. Kristin Says:

    Thanks, Lori…you caught my eye with the title and then kept my heart with the Word of God! So, thanks for the reminder! 🙂


Leave a Reply

