Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

My Day July 28, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,Family,Life — Lori @ 6:57 pm

It is 105 degrees here!  This is Portland, Oregon people!  It isn’t supposed to get that hot here and certainly not this hot for several days in a row.  Last night at 10:00 p.m. it was still in the 80’s.  Crazy.

I have been working like a mad woman on my dossier – that is a fancy word for all the paperwork that the country you are adopting from requires.  There is a list of 29 documents, many of which requires some running around, phone calls, mailing/requesting, doctor appointments or blood tests – I think you get the picture.  Seriously, I have to laugh because they say in our paperwork, it may take you a week to four weeks to get your dossier together.  I honestly do not think anyone could get it done in a week.

The nice thing about the adoption process, in India anyway, is that once we are done with the dossier and I-800 (immigration) stuff, there is a long lull while you just wait for everyone else to do their job.  The next time you are running around like a chicken with your head cut off is when you get notice that you can make your travel plans.

I was at the DMV today to renew my driver’s license.  I have been putting it off – waiting for a good hair day!  Ha.  Anyway, I realized that if I wanted to get my fingerprints done today for the Oregon State Police criminal clearance I had to have a valid driver’s license.  Mine expired two weeks ago.  They have very good A/C at DMV , by the way.  🙂 

On my way there, I was anticipating the waiting in line and frustration I always feel and prayed about my attitude.  I asked God to help me to look at the wait as being in His sovereign control (which EVERYTHING is, right?) and that I would just see what God had for me there.  There was a long line when I walked in.  No big shock.  There was a young woman in front of me and she and I had a nice conversation while we waited.  Nothing earth shattering or anything, but it was nice to experience the DMV in a completely different way from the usual.

As an update of my earlier prayer list, I did receive my birth certificate from California.  But, I had to then send it back to the California Secretary of State to be apostilled – that is a fancy (and somewhat expensive) term for a stamp and cover page that says, “Yes, this is a certified copy”.  About twenty of my documents for the dossier will need to be apostilled.  Luckily, only two of my documents had to be sent out of state for it.  They have to be apostilled in the state the document is notarized/certified in.

 

2 Responses to “My Day”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Sounds like you are enjoying the heat about as much as we are!!!! 🙂 I always laugh…because towards the end of winter I always say to myself that I can’t wait for summer because I’d rather be hot than cold…and right now…I’d take anything to be cold and then to just add a few layers!!! 🙂

    I was laughing too about the DMV…we’ve hit a few more stores than normal this past week just to get some air conditioning! 🙂

  2. Lori Says:

    I do have to clarify, we have A/C in our home. I have terrible allergies and can’t have my windows open so it is a necessity for us. I really can’t complain about the heat – except when I have to be out running around in it!

    I won’t be too thrilled to see my electricity bill next month though!


Leave a Reply

