Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Slumdog Millionaire July 4, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,India,Movies — Lori @ 10:18 pm

I first heard about this movie one day when I was getting my hair done.  The gal doing my hair wasn’t my regular person, but she had done my hair a few times and knew that we had adopted girls from India.

She asked me if I had seen the movie.  I have to admit that I am usually fairly unaware of the current movies that are playing at the theater.  I may pick up on a kid-friendly movie, but usually just don’t pay attention.  When she mentioned this movie, I hadn’t heard of it.

She told me some about the movie and then wondered aloud if it could really be “that bad” in India.  I assured her that it was, “that bad”, not having seen the movie, but going on her descriptions. 

Honestly, I wasn’t sure if I really wanted to watch this movie.  I wasn’t sure if it would be too upsetting to see.  I knew that it was the story of children who lived in slums and that bad things happen to them. 

We rented the movie and watched it last night.  It was a transfixing movie.  You find yourself drawn into this suspenseful and tragic story of these three children trying to survive in the frightening atmosphere of a Mumbai slum. 

We saw only one slum when we were in India.  And, quite frankly, I did my best not to look (or smell) while we walked through it.  Oddly enough, that slum was on the way into the Taj Mahal.  Interesting, huh?  That is India for you – full of contradictions.

We did see numerous street people living under a tarp or just on the side of the street within New Delhi.  We also saw lots of very poor “dwellings” in “towns” we drove through on the highway to Agra.  It is overwhelming just seeing that much.  Being in India left me feeling like there was this huge number of people needing help and where do you start?

One of the wonderful things about international adoption is the fact that you get a peek into another culture and expand your view of the world.  As anyone who has adopted from another country will tell you, there is an impression tattooed into your heart when you visit the country and as you educate yourself about your child’s place of birth.  You care about it in a way that is hard to explain.

As I watched this movie and saw the fate of some of these children living in the harsh life of a slum or the streets – what kept going through my mind is that my little girls could have been there.  That could have been their fate.  Through the grace of God, that is not their reality.  Praise the Lord!

How do we reconcile all the evil in this world?  If it horrifies me, what does God think of it?  Sin has ruined God’s perfect creation.  But, we haven’t been left without hope.

Ephesians 2:1-10

1 And you were dead in the trespasses and sins 2 in which you once walked, following the course of this world, following the prince of the power of the air, the spirit that is now at work in the sons of disobedience— 3among whom we all once lived in the passions of our flesh, carrying out the desires of the body and the mind, and were by nature children of wrath, like the rest of mankind. 4But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us, 5even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ— by grace you have been saved— 6and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, 7so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. 8For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, 9 not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.

 

4 Responses to “Slumdog Millionaire”

  1. sarah bess Says:

    Lori, I know how you feel. I haven’t had the slightest desire to watch the movie. Too much reality to face. There’s enough pain when you look around–doesn’t sound “entertaining” to me to see more suffering. Should I watch it? What do you think?

  2. Lori Says:

    Sarah, Honestly, I am not sure you need to watch it. You have seen enough of – as you say – suffering and pain up close and personal. I think people who haven’t seen what the world is like outside of the U.S. need to see this movie.

    In some ways, it was a triumphant story of survival to see this young boy without much education and who was not given much guidance, live his life in a fairly moral way and grow up to earn a living in an ethical way. (The same cannot be said for his brother.)

    It is mostly just beyond sad to think of how many children in the world are living that kind of existence.

  3. sarah bess Says:

    It is sad that so many children live in such misery. It really is. I don’t think I’ll watch it unless someone sits me down and says they really want to watch it with me or something. Talked with a social worker here the other day, and the stories she told me… Oh. my. gosh. She’s upset with God about it all, is the sad thing. She’s not a believer. So sad to be angry at God when you’re constantly dealing with situations where you and the people around you so need Him. What do you have if you don’t have faith in a loving and beautiful God?

  4. I was wondering if you ever ended up seeing the movie. Broke my heart…but, at the same time, has given me eyes a bit more open to the plight of so many in India.

    And I couldn’t agree more with what you said about the country our kids are from becoming all the more precious to us. I have a love for Ethiopia and the people simply because of Samuel and Caleb…I know it is from the Lord!

    I am so excited to see things first hand at the end of this week…I have a feeling there will be tears too…I am just praying the Lord can burn the impressions and sights into my head and keep them there!


Leave a Reply

