Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

What We Have Been Up To….May May 28, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Family,Home Schooling,Kid Happenings,Kids — Lori @ 11:41 am

My energy level lately has been pretty low.  This time of year my allergies sap my energy and I feel like I am walking around in a fog!  There are days I wake up that way and it is hard to do anything beyond what really NEEDS to be done in a day.  I am always saying that one of the things I am looking forward to about heaven and my new body is NO ALLERGIES!

We celebrated Kira’s seventh birthday on Sunday, May 3.  She chose hamburgers for her dinner (I threw in hot dogs as well).  Actually, both the girls ended up having hot dogs which was their first time having them.  They liked them. 🙂

Our Birthday Girl

Our Birthday Girl

We had family and friends who are family at the party.

The Cousins

The Cousins

She got a princess cake – chocolate!  Yeah!

IMG_7997

The girls have been taking swimming lessons the whole month of May.  More on swimming later.

IMG_8001

There was Mother’s Day at my Mom’s house:

Great Grandma Helen and her great grandkids!

Great Grandma Helen and her great grandkids!

Kira got to have a second birthday (is that something Hobbits do?) with our homeschool group:

IMG_8017

We had an “Oregon City” outing with special friends:

In front of the McLoughlin House

In front of the McLoughlin House

We also had family and friends over for Memorial weekend for a shish-kabob barbeque – you should have heard the attempts at repeating that word!  I don’t have great pictures of that day since I forget to do much photo taking when I am in charge of the activity!

Kevin has been working hard getting a fence put in on the back of our yard.  We have wanted to get to this project for a long time and it feels good to have it almost done.  The girls have helped out as well.  They love to be Daddy’s helper.  I’ll post yard pictures when we get it finished.  I am happy with how it is turning out.  It has been a lot of work, but very rewarding.

Another thing going on around here is getting paperwork together to start on our adoption.  Brings back memories!  That will keep me busy for a couple of months at least.  I do remember how good it feels when you have it all done and sent off! 

The girls are excited about their brother in India.  It has been fun to listen to them pray for him and to tell others about him coming.  It will be interesting to see how they react when it actually happens. 🙂 

Spring/Summer has officially hit.  Not only is the weather getting nice, but I am starting to hear, “Do we have to do school today?”  I swear there is a kid manual that is handed out at birth to every child in every country.  They all know the same lines because there wasn’t anybody around here to teach the girls that one!

 

One Response to “What We Have Been Up To….May”

  1. Kristin Says:

    Boy….you would think that as summer starts to approach it would mean things would start to slow down…but it sounds like you will stay nice and busy like the Pichura Home! 🙂
    It was not long ago that I was filling out paperwork! I will be praying for joy and patience through the process for you! We are so excited about your upcoming adoption!!! We have a picture of your family and soon to be son ready to go into our “prayer book”!!! 🙂
    Thanks for all the updates on what is going on in your precious families life!!! Looking forward to one day meeting up with you…maybe in Hood River! 🙂


Leave a Reply

