Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Kalindi-isms May 24, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Kid Sayings — Lori @ 10:08 pm

Kalindi was very happily explaining to Auntie Lori today that she has “gobbles” that match her swimsuit.  Auntie Lori was very understandingly ignoring the fact that she was saying the word wrong – either that or she didn’t have a clue what Kalindi was talking about!

Overhearing the conversation I corrected Kalindi that the word she was looking for was “goggles” – which I might add I have done at least twenty times since I bought them for her.  🙂 

With that correction, Auntie Lori then knew what Kalindi was referring to.  She told me, “Those are the kind of things that Mommy needs to write down and remember.”

Here are a few other words the girls have trouble pronouncing:

prastick – for practice.  I have worked on this word with Kalindi so many times! 

umbermamella – for umbrella.  This word ends up sounding a lot like their attempt at Cinderella.

Honestly, they are doing so well with their language that it is hard to come up with these examples.  I must admit that I enjoy these little “mistakes” just as much as I enjoyed seeing Kira lose her front teeth.  They are part of the growing up process and they make me smile.  I love being a Mom. 🙂

 

2 Responses to “Kalindi-isms”

  1. Kristin Says:

    My hubby and I have often talked about how fun it will be to hear our adopted children learn to speak English 🙂 Thanks for giving us a preview of some of the fun we will have!

  2. Thelma Says:

    Try pro-noun-cing words one syllable at a time. It really helps!


Leave a Reply

