Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Kira’s Stories May 23, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Kid Sayings,Parenting — Lori @ 9:31 pm

Kira has always felt a little left out when Kalindi will tell stories of things that she remembers of their family.  Kira was too young when she was last with her mom to have memory of it.  She usually will make up a story – always telling me first that she is making it up! – about doing something with her Indian mom or older sister.

Tonight, before bed there was a little misunderstanding and Kira got upset and ran off crying.  I went after her because I felt bad that I said something that made her feel sad.  I apologized to her because I had made a wrong assumption about something and reacted which caused her to be upset.  We hugged and then went back to what we were doing before.

While getting ready for bed, Kira asked to speak with me “privacy” (her word for wanting to speak with me alone).  She said she was sorry for what had happened earlier and we hugged and she told me that she loved that I was her mommy and thanked me for making her feel better.

When I was tucking her in, she asked if she could tell me a story.  I said yes, of course.  She said, “There was a little girl named Kira and her Mom made her feel happy and let her get on her back and we laughed.  I am so happy that she is my Mommy.  The End!”

The look of joy on her face made me feel like the most special person in the whole world!  This wasn’t a “story” this is what really happened.  Now, she has her own stories.  She has expressed so many times lately how happy she is that I am her Mommy.  I have seen in dozens of incidents that she appreciates things that I do for her or just enjoys sitting next to me or on my lap to watch a television show or read a book.  She will grab my hand when we are walking and express how much she loves me.

Many of you might not think this is anything special, but it is!  Kira is attaching to me as her mother.  She is realizing that she can count on me and trust me.  Yeah!  I just love adoption. 🙂

 

4 Responses to “Kira’s Stories”

  1. Lisa Henderson Says:

    Sweet post! It brought tears to my eyes, while I was smiling!

    Lisa H.

  2. Thelma Says:

    This is beautiful, Lori. I agree. She needs to make memories with YOU and Kevin. She needs to feel that she has history with you.

  3. Kristin Says:

    …and I just LOVED what you shared!!! Thank you for the sweet reminder of the grace of God in the lives of our adopted children!!!


Leave a Reply

