Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

My Hand and Other March 16, 2009

Filed under: Family,Kids,Life — Lori @ 6:03 pm

I decided not to post another photo of my left hand carpal tunnel surgery like I did when I had my right hand done in October.  So you can check it out if you want to.

The recovery from surgery has been much easier on my left hand and I am not sure if that is because I am not left handed or because my left hand was not as bad (less nerve restriction) contrasted with my right hand.  However, I am thankful that this time has been easier although I am still not able to do a lot with my left hand.

They cut a large portion of a ligament in your hand to give your nerves that have been restricted by the damage done to the ligament with repepetive motion more room.  This takes about four complete months to heal.  That seems like a long time, doesn’t it?  I sure thought so.  Really, after two months it is doing very well.  I am almost to two weeks post op now.  I can use my hand – more like fingers – for light duty, but not much pulling and certainly not much weight.  I can drive with it, but it does hurt to really crank the steering wheel on a corner.

I get my stitches out tomorrow.  I am so excited!  Right now I have a large hard splint on my wrist which is so big it is hard to fit in the sleeves of my clothes and coats.  I have also been restricted from getting my hand wet.  I take a shower with my hand up in the air and a plastic newspaper bag rubber banded on.  Makes for interesting showering.  So tomorrow is a much anticipated milestone in my recovery.

Kira and Kalindi saw the dentist today.  It is the third time that they have had their teeth cleaned.  We had worried that Kira hadn’t been brushing well – she is always in a hurry – and so I shouldn’t have been surprised that she had two cavities.  They are very small, but they are in permanent teeth.  She will be having more supervision at brushing time!

We had a fun family day yesterday at my parents’ house.  March is a big family birthday month so we celebrated three of them yesterday.  It was a great excuse to get together and to eat really well.  🙂  We are so blessed with a wonderful family.

Psalm 34: 1-3   I will bless the LORD at all times; his praise shall continually be in my mouth.   My soul makes its boast in the LORD; let the humble hear and be glad. Oh, magnify the LORD with me,  and let us exalt his name together!

 

Leave a Reply

