Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Hate to Admit It…. March 3, 2009

Filed under: Family,Kids,Life,Parenting — Lori @ 3:10 pm

About fifteen years ago I remember having a conversation with Kevin about video games.  Kelsey and Grant were about seven and five at the time and, well, you know the drill, EVERYONE had video games.  I really didn’t want to get into that.  I limited television watching and saw video games as mindless, empty entertainment that I would have to be the video game cop with.  I didn’t want to go there.  I told my husband I did not want him to buy – at the time – a Nintendo 64. 

Fate had other plans.  Kevin was out of town at a conference for work and guess what he won in a drawing?  That’s right, you guessed it!  A Nintendo 64.  When he showed it to me, I told him to sell it before the kids saw it.  He was thinking he had hit the jackpot because I think he wanted one just as badly – or more so – than the kids.

Needless to say, we did not sell the Nintendo.  And, I did become the video game cop.  It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be and I am sure there must be some life skills that video games are good for.  Can’t think of any off the bat, but give me time. 🙂 

I have to admit that if you use them correctly, limit the time, and are careful about what games you let them play, it can be fun.  We spent time playing it as a family and it was a lot of fun. 

Kevin started telling me that we should buy a wii sometime before Christmas.  Quite honestly, I did not want to get into the latest video game craze.  (We still have a Nintendo Game Cube although we hadn’t tried to play it with the girls.)  He ended up finally getting a wii a few weeks ago, spending his own Christmas money to buy it.  And, I have to admit that we have had some fun times as a family playing it together.  I am again the video game cop, but that’s okay.  In fact, in a way having the wii is a great discipline tool.  It is something I can take away (or threaten to take away if some attitude or behavior doesn’t change) and it hurts them.   Always a helpful tool in the parenting kit.

Kira was a bowling “savant” from the start.  It is a crack up to watch her play.  You would never think that she would do as well as she does.  She usually beats all of us.  In fact, she gets such good scores consistently that there is now a designation by her name that says, “Pro”.  Too funny. 

We just picked up Mario Kart this last weekend.  After playing that with the girls a few times I was telling Kevin that he was going to do the honors of teaching the girls how to drive. 🙂  They are getting better and staying on the road more often and falling off the cliffs or into water less.

So, here is a question for you out there.  If you have a wii, what is a game that your family has that you and your kids enjoy?  I would love to hear what games you bought and love to play and even games you bought that you wish you had not wasted your money on.

Thanks for you help!

 

5 Responses to “Hate to Admit It….”

  1. Sandra Says:

    The “Outdoor Adventures” game is a hit with the whole family – it has a huge mat that comes with it, and about 20 games – ranging from “whack a mole” to trampoline. I picked it up for about $55.00.

    My 4 year old just received “Dora Saves the Snow Princess” for her birthday, and it’s awesome too.

    Of course, the original sports package gets everyone together, as does the Wii Fit with balance board. We all exercise now, every day!

  2. sarah bess Says:

    That’s funny, Lori. I didn’t want to let my kids get video games, either. My hubby’s not into them, or we’d have them by now. But my kids sneak my cell phone to play Snake and other games on it–little stinkers! Not that video games are bad–it’s just that they’re so darn addictive and people MY age who got addicted to them as kids are still wasting hours on them developing skills that have nothing to do with real life. I say, surf the web for stuff that interests you, kick a soccer ball, talk to someone, pray…
    Bless you, by the way, for calling my blog extra special. a hug to you.

  3. Kristin Says:

    Lori, I was laughing last night as I read your post…my 4 children were all engaged in a game of wii tennis and laughing and giggling like crazy! 🙂
    I wish I could give you some tips for some good games…but we only have a couple. Mario Kart is one of our favorites…and we enjoy the sports one, of course, too! The outdoor adventure game pack sounds fun based on the previous comment…we’ll have to keep our eyes open for that.
    My hubby is as much of a kid as our other kids when it comes to the games…but it was actually my GRANDPARENTS who said we just HAD to have one and gave us the money for it last Christmas 🙂

  4. Sandra,
    I heard that the outdoor one was fun from a friend. I think we should try it because I think it would be good for the girls coordination and fitness.

    Sarah,
    A girl after my own heart!

    Kristin,
    That is funny! I just try really hard to balance the video use with other activities.

  5. Thelma Says:

    I only played Wii once – ever. I played the cow-throwing game. I won! It’s a great game! It comes with other games. You can race on the back of your own cow. They’re thumping along, like real, fat cows! I was laughing so hard I had to bring my mom over and show her the cow-throwing! Mark can tell you what game it is.


Leave a Reply

