Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

A Sweet Conversation February 19, 2009

Filed under: Faith,Family,Kids — Lori @ 9:17 am

For some reason, Kalindi has asked me a lot of questions about finding a husband.  She asked me how I knew I should marry Daddy.  I told her that Daddy and I prayed that God would find a good spouse for us.  Sometimes I forget how much Kalindi takes everything I say to heart.  She has also asked me when she will get married and, of course, I assure her that is a LONG way off and not to worry about it now.

Yesterday, she came up and sat next to me and said, “I prayed last night that God will bring me the husband He wants for me.”  I responded that was a good idea, but she didn’t need to be concerned with a husband just yet.  “I know.  But, I thought that if God gave me a husband like Daddy that would be good.”  I told her that looking for a husband like Daddy would indeed be a good idea!  She couldn’t do any better than to look for a man that would measure up to her Daddy.

Upon hearing any conversation about marriage Kira usually states emphatically that, “I am never getting married.  I am going to live with you Mommy!”  Sounds good to me. 🙂

Thanks for reading, Lori

 

3 Responses to “A Sweet Conversation”

  1. Kristin Says:

    That was SO precious!!! Hope you are writing it down or planning on publishing your blog….that is one to hold on to for, Lord willing, their wedding days!!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  2. Shirley Says:

    What a sweet mother-daughter moment 🙂

    Just as a side note, I started praying for our daughter’s future husband when she was born (if she chose to marry). I prayed for his salvation, protection, upbringing, life choices and much more. Not on a daily basis, but he was in my prayers. God is faithful. She has been married now for 15 years to the perfect husband for her. We love him dearly & couldn’t have chosen better ourselves!

  3. Lori Says:

    Shirley,
    That is such an encouraging story about your daughter. God is faithful, isn’t He?

    I have done the same thing for Kelsey who is nineteen and is still waiting for God’s choice, not having dated as yet. I feel very confident that God has protected Kelsey to this point because He has someone very special for her. Our world is such that I felt a great need to pray for Kelsey’s future husband and how he was being raised, his character, values, and most importantly His relationship with the Lord. I pray that her future husband will be a man of God who will be a spiritual leader in his home. I now also pray this for the girls.


Leave a Reply

