Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Almost a Year January 28, 2009

Filed under: Adoption,Faith,Family,Grief,Home Schooling — Lori @ 12:24 am

The past eleven months has gone by so quickly.  I was recently reliving our call we received from the adoption agency telling us that our guardianship order had been signed and that we could make our travel plans.  The reason it all seemed so fresh and exciting is because some friends were preparing to travel to India for their little girl at about the same time as we did last year.  They got home with their daughter on January 26!  It was so much fun to go meet them at the airport.

On February 13, 2008 we left the U.S. for India.  That trip was awesome in so many ways.  It was also overwhelming.  We were taking on this task that seemed so huge when we realized how little English was being spoken by the girls and wondering how we were going to deal with everyday life.   The trip home was exhausting.  Getting home felt so good and having our family and friends there to greet us and knowing how much support and love we had around us – well, I know I sighed with relief.  And wanted to kiss the ground in this country that I am so privileged to live in.

Tonight when I went in to tuck the girls in for bed, Kalindi asked me, “Mommy, why did you and Daddy decide to adopt us?” It made me think of your young kids who want to hear the story again of when they were born. 🙂  It was so much fun to explain to her that Daddy and I had always thought about adoption and that after Grant died, we both prayed about it and decided we weren’t done being parents.  And, we knew that there were a lot of kids in the world who needed a family.  We have talked about this before so I am not sure why she asked tonight.  Maybe she enjoys hearing the story.  It could be that it gives her some security to hear how much we wanted these two little girls from India.

I told her about the first time we saw their photos.  They were the very first photos that had been taken of them when they came to the orphanage.  At the time the photos were three years old so the girls had changed quite a lot when we finally received new ones.  When I first saw the updated photos I felt like I had just been told I was pregnant.  It was amazing.

Kalindi asked me if Grant knew about them.  I told her no, that he had already died.  She said, “Would you have adopted us if Grant didn’t die?”  I had to say, no, we would not have adopted them.  It’s true.  We may have adopted, but it would not have been these girls at that time.  If I never before believed Romans 8:28,29 before I certainly believe it now. (FYI I have ALWAYS believed it!)

28 And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. 29 For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son, in order that he might be the firstborn among many brothers.

All things work together for good.  And what is the ultimate good?  It is that we are being conformed to the image of his Son.  But, you know what?  There are a lot of other good things too.  God is so gracious and gives such good gifts.  Our house is full of laughter and Barbies and hair things and joy. 

February 23, 2009 will be our one year anniversary of returning to the U.S. with our girls.  I am sometimes in awe at how much progress we have made and I am so thankful that things have gone so smoothly.  We have our issues, but really they are minor.

I am also back at work.  I have two eager students who enjoy our school time each day.  I have plenty to keep me busy, not much time for feeling sorry for myself.  To be honest, I still have some days when it is hard to keep tears at bay.  I am sure it will always be there.  But, I thank the Lord for His healing and His comfort.

Thanks for reading, Lori

 

Leave a Reply

