Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Unique English Usage November 20, 2008

Filed under: Adoption,Family,Home Schooling — Lori @ 4:28 pm

I keep forgetting to write down and share some of the cute things the girls still say.  Reading a blog of a family who has recently adopted siblings from Ethiopia I was reminded of some of the language hurdles that I thought we would NEVER get over.  One of those was to stop referring to themselves in the third person. 🙂  I would say that was pretty much gone after about six months and about a million reminders by me whenever they did it.

The other day Kira was saying something to me and I just answered her without correcting what she had said.  I find that I often just translate in my head and don’t even realize that what was said is wrong.  Anyway, Kevin says, “Did you hear what she said?”  I had to stop and think and then realized he was referring to their mutual mistake they make when saying that they “forgot it”.  The way they both say it is “got it for”.  It is so funny when you realize that they say it all the time and I just answer without a thought. 

The other phrase that they often mix up is “Yes, I am.”  They will say, “Yes am are!”  I am actually pretty impressed that they are doing as well as they are.

A part of speech that I think they must not have in Hindi are articles.  I have to remind them to use a, an, and the.  They see no need for those words.  Even when I want them to repeat something I say they will leave them out.  They also do not want to use the words and, or, and but.

One of the early words that Kevin and I enjoyed the girls using was “lotassa”.  They would use it when they were referring to a lot of something.  They STILL use that word.  I am pretty sure they made it up.  I like it.

For those of you who have adopted kids from India, the girls still use the head tilting back and forth and blinking of the eyes when they talk sometimes.  It is an Indian thing, I guess.  I actually wish that they would keep some of those cultural quirks.

When I think about all that the girls have had to learn, I am really amazed at how well they are doing.  We can talk about a lot of things that we couldn’t in the beginning.  We are able to talk about feelings, memories, thoughts, and ideas.  The girls are making great strides in learning about telling time and the idea of dates and calendars.  We have a long way to go, but they just had no concept of this at all to begin with.

The girls and I are enjoying school.  We had worked on some things last spring, but it became so stressful for all of us that I backed off and we just played educational games and worked on language and jus getting them to feel settled here.  It took them some time just to figure out how to find things on their own to occupy their time.  They have no problem with that now!  We had a fun, relaxing summer taking swimming lessons and learning how to ride bikes.  They were very ready to begin school this fall and although it was a bit rough at the start, we got in a flow and I am pleased with how it is going.  We are able to complete all that we need to do each day by lunch time and then do things around the house or run errands in the afternoon.

That recap I just gave of our daily schedule sounds very neat and tidy.  Why is it that I never feel like I have enough time in a day?  Could it possibly be that I am not as disciplined or as good at time management as I should be? 🙂  I love reading this blog about a family who has eleven children (four of which they have adopted) and how they live their life.  She seems so together and organized.  As fun as I think it would be to have a bunch of kids, I am not sure that I have the ability to handle that.  At least not eleven! 

Right now, we are enjoying these three girls the Lord has given us and are open to possibly adding more with the Lord’s urging.  We’ll see what the future holds.

 

One Response to “Unique English Usage”

  1. Theresa Says:

    It was so great seeing you guys today! Your girls are so sweet and I look forward to Etsegenet getting to know them. She has now arrived and is sweetly sleeping in her bed which is right up the stairs from our room. What a peace we have knowing God brings to completion the work he started. I will talk to you soon.
    Love, Theresa VanWetten


Leave a Reply

