Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

Update on SS November 18, 2008

Filed under: Adoption,Family,Life,Uncategorized — Lori @ 3:55 pm

The girls and I went to the SS office after I saw my surgeon to check my hand.  As a quick aside, it will have been four weeks tomorrow that I had my surgery and my hand is doing well.  The doctor says that I can expect weekly progress, but not daily progress like I saw in the first three weeks.  I am happy that I can now use nail clippers to clip the girls toenails, open the refrigerator with my right hand, pull up my pants :-), and use a knife for cooking.  These are all recent accomplishments!

Back to the reason for my update.  I prayed for success on my way to the office.  I got a different person than I have ever worked with before and she was really nice.  She seemed interested in the girls and asked personal questions about them.  She was actually an immigrant herself – she told me she came here when she was fifteen.  She said she was impressed that the girls hardly have an accent after being here such a short time – she still has her accent.

She accepted the birth certificate, adoption decree, adoption certificate, pediatrician’s letter, and the girls green cards as ample evidence of identity and citizenship.  She said the paperwork goes through immigration (USCIS) before a number is issued and it can take up to eight weeks.  Please don’t stop praying!  Pray that the paperwork will be satisfactory for immigration and there will be no hangups.  But, it sure felt good to leave that office knowing I shouldn’t have to return any time soon.  Thank you Lord!

The song that goes with the following verse came to my mind after the SS office victory:

Isaiah 55:12  For you shall go out with joy and be led forth with peace; the mountains and the hills, shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.

 

Leave a Reply

