Goodbye Ordinary

I will recount the steadfast love of the LORD, the praises of the LORD, according to all that the LORD has granted us. Isaiah 63:7

How did I name my site? October 30, 2008

Filed under: Faith,Family,Grief,Life — Lori @ 9:50 pm

I have this CD of Mercy Me with a song on it entitled, “Goodbye Ordinary”.  Here are the lyrics to the chorus:  Live like there’s no tomorrow, Love extravagantly, Lead a life to be followed, Goodbye ordinary,
Goodbye ordinary.

I love the thoughts in these words.  Since losing our son in an accident, the way I see the world has been turned upside down.  All the things I used to focus on seemed very insignificant.  Of course, my family was always very important to me, but I had slipped into this self indulgent mindset of seeking after things for my personal pleasure.  Don’t get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with a little of that in your life.  In fact, I believe that our heavenly Father has wonderful gifts for us in this life.  The problem was my focus – where I was putting the most energy.

I realized that much of what I spent my time on had no lasting value.  As a believer in the Lord Jesus Christ and saved by grace, my relationship with God and my pursuit of holiness – a life that reflects the character of Christ – should be my number one priority.  The time I put into my marriage and family is always valuable.  But, these had really fallen into second place.

When the rug is pulled out from under you, you figure out what you need to hang onto to keep yourself on solid ground.  My search for that solid ground took me to God’s Word and it, and He, did not disappoint.  My greatest comfort was found in the Psalms where many authors cry out to God in their pain and fear and yet always remind themselves of the reality of Who God is and all that they have seen Him do.  Another book that was a comfort to me was Job. 

I am not by any means saying that I have it all figured out.  I only hope I am on the right road and can keep myself trudging on it in the right direction with as few sidetracks as possible!

 

Leave a Reply

